Skip to content

know

July 5, 2012

Welcome to my blog!  It’s only about five months since I opened this account, and here I am finally putting in my first post!  🙂  There’s nothing quite like being timely, right?  These posts will not be daily, I’m sure, nor will they be on a consistent theme.  Some will be very short, others a little longer.  They will, however, be what the Lord shows me to post.  So strap on your seat belt, and let’s get started on this journey He wants to take us on.

Since I have not had a positive male authority in my life, God put it on my heart to do a word study in the Bible on Father God so I could learn what He is truly like, not just what my thoughts of Him are, which have great potential to be very wrong.  This first post is quite a ways into this study, but is also quite basic.  John 14:8-14 from The Message is a refreshing way to read this familiar passage.

“Philip said, ‘Master, show us the Father; then we’ll be content.’ 

‘You’ve been with Me all this time, Philip, and you still don’t understand?  To see Me is to see the Father.  So how can you ask, “Where is the Father?” Don’t you believe that I am in the Father and the Father is in Me?  The words that I speak to you aren’t mere words.  I don’t just make them up on my own.  The Father Who resides in Me crafts each word into a divine act.  Believe me:  I am in My Father and My Father is in Me.  If  you can’t believe that, believe what you see–these works.  The person who trusts Me will not only do what I’m dong but even greater things, because I, on My way to the Father, am giving you the same work to do that I’ve been doing.  You can count on it.  From now on, whatever you request along the lines of Who I am and what I am doing, I’ll do it.  That’s how the Father will be seen for Who He is in the Son.  I mean it.  Whatever you request in this way, I’ll do.'”

Verse 12 says, “The person who trusts Me….”  Hmmm….how do I get to a place that I trust someone?  I get to know them.  How do I get to know someone?  I spend time with them.  I listen to what they have to say.  I gradually open up to them so they get to know me.  I read what they’ve written.  I observe them in a variety of situations, as that reveals their character.  It’s no different with God. 

Verse 10 from Today’s English Version says, “…whoever believes in Me will do what I do…”  If I trust a person, I also believe in them.  I am fully aware of their capabilities in a certain area.  Let’s go to an even deeper level, then I will tie all this together.

Verse 9 in New International Version says, “Jesus answered, ‘Don’t you know Me, Philip, even after I have been among you such a long time?'”  This word in the Greek means “to know, come to know, recognize, understand…”  It also is used in the most intimate way, as a man knows his wife, in physical intimacy.  Before you get weirded out, let me give you a word picture.

I once lived in a city where I had a plumber that I had known since I was about 13 years old.  His father had taught him all he knew as a plumber.  I so trusted this man that I made arrangements for him to come into the house and work for us when we were not able to be at home.  I trusted him completely.  I believed in his skills.  However, I did now know him as his wife did.  I knew him as both a  friend and a professional.  Those were the only ways I needed to be acquainted with him. 

Father God is quite different.  As I have spent time with him I have begun to be able to trust Him in baby steps.  Progressively those baby steps have progressed into believing Who He is.  After 32 years of walking with Him through all sorts of different situations, I am beginning to know just Who He is.  Had I been intentional about growing in this relationship through the years, I would be further along than I am.

I encourage you to pursue this Father/child relationship with such zeal that you be one who cheers others on in this journey of knowing our precious Father.  

If you’ve never met Him, let me introduce you.  He has a Son named Jesus Who lived on this planet.  At age 33 he was brutally killed, but He did it for a purpose.  He knew the only way we could ever be forgiven for the wrong stuff we would do was if blood was shed to pay that price.  Animals had been used for hundreds of years.  The only other alternative was that we die for our own offenses.  The Father had a different plan and His Son, Jesus, willingly died so we wouldn’t have to.  He did this for one purpose:  to be in relationship with you.  But He leaves that choice up to you; He does not force you to be connected with Him.  If you want that association with your Creator, just tell him you know you’ve done things that are wrong and ask Him to forgive you.  Let Him know you want Him to be in charge of your life.  Then tell somebody that you’ve done this.  You might want to post a comment on this blog and let me know you’ve done this.  You could also call 1.800.NEED HIM and tell someone on the  phone.  Then find a good church that teaches the Bible so you can learn about this new relationship you’re in.  Read what the Father has written for you, the Bible.  I recommend you begin with Mark in the New Testament.  As you read each day, your hungry spirit will be fed.  Talk to the Father just like you talk to a close friend.  He can help you like nobody else can, no matter what the situation.  Enjoy your new journey!!

  ~Joanna

    


From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

