Skip to content

life or death

July 17, 2012

God is about life; satan is about death. I saw that so clearly as I read Mark 5:1-20, the story of the demon-possessed man who lived in the cemetery. Notice that anything having to do with satan or his cohorts is dark, heavy, oppressive. God gives us light, joy, hope, and peace. John 10:10 in The Message says, “A thief is only there to steal and kill and destroy. I came so they can have real and eternal life, more and better life than they ever dreamed of.” God clearly points out that we have the choice between life and death in Deuteronomy 30:15-19. When He created us, He didn’t make us to be His robots. He is a gentleman and gives us the freedom to choose. Verse 16, again from The Message, says, “And I command you today: Love God, your God. Walk in His ways. Keep His commandments, live, live exuberantly, blessed by God, your God, in the land you are about to enter and possess.” I love hearing God’s heart in this. Such extravagant love! I encourage you to choose the good way, God’s way, the option of life. I’ve tried both ways and I wouldn’t go back for anything. I even have a ring I wear that is a reminder of the covenant I made with my Father that I will never leave Him; I won’t go back into the darkness. Since I made that promise I have experienced increased light, freedom, and joy, far more than I ever dreamed was possible. So my encouragement to you is to choose life. Choose the way that brings joy. Choose the path that is going to lead you into peace. Choose Jesus. Choose to get to know the Father. I wish you could see me smiling right now. Believe me, you have no idea how incredible this road can be if you choose it. This is not the path of religion. It’s the path of relationship with our Creator. I’m so excited just thinking about it! I could go on and on talking about it. But I don’t want it to come across as trying to coerce you, so I’ll stop here. Just know I have an encouraging smile on my face.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

