Skip to content

in spite of

October 24, 2012

I don’t remember reading this all in its context before, but in John 13:27 Jesus tells Judas Iscariot to go do what he has planned to do. Judas leaves the upper room to go betray the One Who knows what’s coming down the pike. Then in verse 38 Jesus tells Peter how he is going to betray Jesus three times. The very next verse is John 14:1 where Jesus says, “Don’t let this throw you. You trust God, don’t you? Trust Me. There is plenty of room for you in my Father’s home. If that weren’t so, would I have told you that I’m on my way to get a room ready for you? And if I’m on my way to get your room ready, I’ll come back and get you so you can live where I live.” What mercy!!! What grace!!! Jesus knew how each man was going to turn their backs on Him and run, yet He is still going to get a place ready for them in heaven! To put that a little closer to home, He knows what I’m currently like. He knows what we’re going to do in the future. Yet John 14:1-3 is for me as well as the disciples He was talking to. In spite of all that I am and all that He knows I’m going to do, He is still preparing a place for me in heaven! I’m speechless (and that’s a rare occurrence for me!)

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

