Skip to content

Chosen

October 29, 2012

“But you are the ones chosen by God, chosen for the high calling of priestly work, chosen to be a holy people, God’s instruments to do His work and speak out for Him, to tell others of the night-and-day difference He made for you–from nothing to something, from rejected to accepted.” I Peter 2:9-10, The Message. 

The Father hasn’t chosen us so we can waste our precious minutes on earth doing whatever we want to do, pleasing our flesh 24/7.  He chose us to be holy people for the high calling of His priestly.work, not ours.  It has been quite a process to get me where I am now.  I’ve had to give up a lot of things I wanted to do, fun things, relaxing times, in order to be used by God.  But I wouldn’t trade any of it.  He has spared my life more times than I can count.  He didn’t keep me from death for no reason.  He has a purpose for me being here.  You are no different.  There is an explanation for why our hearts are still beating, and there is still breath in our lungs.  It’s to be His representatives to the people He has put us in relationship with.  My rude co-worker needs to see the light of Jesus shining through.  My neighbor that’s being abused is watching me to see why I have a smile on my face when she has such turmoil inside.  My jobs and my everyday life may seem pointless and humdrum to some people, but my Father doesn’t see it that way.  Since I sold out to Him 100% a few years ago, my ordinary tasks have become acts of worship to Him.  I am amazed at how the most ordinary things are totally fulfilling because they are done for my Father.  He uses them, too!  I watch as He takes my low positions and tasks in the work force and touches people through what I do.  There’s nothing extraordinary about my job duties.  It’s how I do it, for Him, that makes the difference.  It will rarely be the tasks that you do with your hands that will affect others.  When you no longer do it for your own kudos but put the spotlight on Jesus, you’ll see a spark in the person you’re talking to.  Now listen to Ephesians 2:10 from the Message.  Remember, these are not my forceful words, but God’s.

“He creates each of us by Christ Jesus to join Him in the work He does, the good work He has gotten ready for us to do, work we had better be doing.”

 

From → direction

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

