Skip to content

3 rings 3 reminders

December 14, 2012

Listen for God’s voice in everything you do, everywhere you go; He’s the One Who will keep you on track.” Proverbs 3:6, The Message, (emphasis mine)

I wear what is commonly called a puzzle ring or a triad ring which is actually three rings in one. They are all permanently intertwined with one another. Interestingly enough, they remind me of three things. One is the Trinity: Father, Son, and Holy Spirit.

Second is the fact that in a marriage God must be purposely braided into the relationship in order to make it stronger. “…a triple-braided cord is not easily broken.” Ecclesiastes 4:12c, English Standard Version. So this ring reminds me that God will choose my husband; I need to not get in the way, but follow as He leads me. Then as we enter into that relationship (should He have someone for me), it is our responsibility to choose to include God in our individual lives as well as in our marriage.

The third aspect I am reminded of is the main reason I wear the ring. One of the rings symbolizes my need to totally lean on my Father. This prevents me from getting into the difficult struggle that I need to fix the situation myself. (I have not been doing this, but majorly stressing over numerous huge things that have been coming down on me lately like a giant pile of football players.) For example, as I am walking into work I literally tell Daddy that I simply cannot do this job by myself. I need Him to go before me and give me wisdom every step of the way. The second ring calls me to listen to Him. The last ring reminds me to obey what He has shown me to do. So for me, it is: lean, listen, obey.

Listen for God’s voice in everything you do, everywhere you go; He’s the One Who will keep you on track.” Proverbs 3:6, The Message

From → direction

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

