Skip to content

pushed or led

January 10, 2013

I can’t seem to get away from Mark 6. In verse 45 from The Message it says, “As soon as the meal was finished, Jesus insisted that the disciples get in the boat and go on ahead across to Bethsaida while He dismissed the congregation.” Every account of Jesus’ life here on earth shows me that He went peacefully from one place to another. Nowhere do I see Him pushing anyone to hurry. This verse is no different. He didn’t tell the crowd, “Hurry up and eat! My disciples are tired and need rest!”, or “Come on! Can’t you eat any faster than that? I need to get away from you people and pray!” No, every place I read reveals His peace, love, and compassion for others as He spent time ministering. A friend who recently went to heaven used to say, “The Lord leads and the devil pushes,” (Charlene Dunn). Think about what you’re dealing with right now. Are you being pushed or led? If you’re feeling pushed, *satan is behind it. If you’re being peacefully led, the gentle Holy Spirit is the Source. That simple quote helps me easily see which way I should go.

*I intentionally do not capitalize the name of satan, as I don’t feel he deserves the respect.

From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. Angel permalink

    Great word. I don’t capitalize satan either for the same reason.
    Angel

Leave a Reply

