Skip to content

lead

February 19, 2013

For several days I’ve been drawn to Mark 8:34-37 from The Message. Each day as I read it God has a different sentence stand out to me. Today it’s this sentence that Jesus says to the crowd: “Anyone who intends to come with me has to let me lead.” As I pondered this I asked Him if that was an accurate statement of His heart. I was then prompted to read it from Today’s New International Version. It says, “Whoever wants to be my disciple must …follow me.” I realized it’s impossible to both lead and follow. If I’m following, then someone else has to be leading. I then looked inside and asked, who is in the lead?

As I read those verses in ten other versions I found they all say basically the same thing, so on that basis I agree with the fresh way The Message states it. The version that stood out to me the most was the Amplified Bible. Here is a portion of that verse. “If anyone intends to come after Me, let him…follow with Me–continually, [that is,] cleave steadfastly to Me.” My spirit leaped at this and I again made the choice to follow my Father continually, to cleave steadfastly to Him.”

From → direction, Jesus

2 Comments
  1. Jones permalink

    Perhaps you could write next articles referring to this article. I want to read even more things about it! Nice post. I was checking constantly this blog and I am impressed! Very helpful info particularly the last part 🙂

  2. Thank you for your comment! It’s so encouraging to know there are people reading what Daddy gives me to post. I only write what He shows me to, so I can’t promise anything. I hope that since you commented on this there have been some things that have helped.

Leave a Reply

