Skip to content

sensationalism

February 26, 2013

I loved reading Mark 9:2-13 in The Message (www.biblegateway.com). Matthew 17:1-13 and Luke 9:28-36 tell the same account, with each having different details added in.

When I looked at The Quest Study Bible the footnotes were wonderful. One reason it gives for Jesus to be transfigured was so the Father could verify Who Jesus was – His Son, the Messiah.

I love the next point given that reveals God is not into “the show”. The Pharisees had been after Jesus to give them a sign of Who He really was. Since Jesus always followed the leading of His Father, He refused. If the Pharisees had seen Jesus being transfigured, it would have increased the cry for more of the same. This Study Bible brings out the Father’s desire for a change of heart instead of the people’s love for sensationalism as a reason for Jesus telling His disciples to keep it quiet. I love that thought. Even with our ability to create unbelievably sensational sights with lights, cameras, and computer images, we can’t even begin to replicate the reality of heaven or the incredible glory of the Father. That seems quite fitting of what I know of Him: He isn’t into sensationalism, but transformed hearts.

From → Jesus

6 Comments
  1. ShopPin permalink

    Wow! This can be the initial time that I noticed an individual create these a tremendous write-up on that offered subject. I truly recognize your efforts! Maintain on carrying out these a great position mate!

  2. link building permalink

    Peculiar article, just what I was looking for.

  3. Jones permalink

    hey there and thank you for your info – I’ve certainly picked up something new from right here.

  4. Good! I’m so glad to hear that. πŸ™‚ Thank you so much for your comment!

  5. I’m very glad to hear that. Thank you so much for your comment! For the longest time I didn’t know if anyone read what I wrote; I simply did it out of obedience to the Holy Spirit.

  6. Thank you so much! Your encouragement is greatly appreciated!

Leave a Reply

