Skip to content

hmmmmmm……

March 26, 2013

I’m still not past I Kings 17:1. There’s so much more in a verse than we can ever get out of it because the Bible is alive and active, sharper than any double-edged sword. Here’s that verse from NIV: “Now Elijah the Tishbite, from Tishbe in Gilead, said to Ahab, ‘As the Lord, the God of Israel lives, whom I serve, there will be neither dew nor rain in the next few years except at my word.’ ” The narrative stops there. We literally have no record of what happened in that room after that.

How did the king react? Did he sit there speechless? Did he say, “Really? And exactly who do you think you are, you little common person? Did you forget who I am?” Or did Ahab laugh? Did his “yes men” laugh with him? Did Elijah leave feeling humiliated or in fear?

I believe the reason God doesn’t record the happenings in that room because it doesn’t matter. Elijah was there because he was a God-pleaser, not a man-pleaser. The response from the humans simply didn’t factor in to the outcome. Mature Elijah knew that. He knew a drought was coming. Period.

So my question to myself is, would I be that bold? Is my heart’s cry truly to please God or tickle the ears of the people I rub shoulders with each day? Hmmmm……food for thought.

From → direction

2 Comments
  1. Angel permalink

    This was VERY encouraging!!!! This is a theme this week….to be obedient to God. Hugs, Angel

    ________________________________

  2. I am so glad to hear that. Hugs back to you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

