Skip to content

direction

April 2, 2013

In my recent blog “Courage!” I quoted John Maxwell from The Maxwell Leadership Bible, a small article he wrote on I Kings 17:1 regarding Elijah. Part of the title for that is, “…When God is Behind You, One Is a Majority”. There is one issue I have struggled with that I am faced with once again. And the question I ask myself is this: Is God behind me with the direction I want to go? Or: Is the path I’m compelled to go really God’s path for me?

Yes, I am sold out to Daddy, but no one is living perfectly.  One area He has shown His flashlight on concerns what I put in my body.  Is it what I need, or is it just what I want?  Is it the amount my body needs (not enough or too much)?  Why is this important?  He has given me this body to take care of so I can do what He wants me to do more effectively.  He refers to the body as His temple.  (See I Corinthians 3:16-17 and I Corinthians 6:19-20.)

How about this one: Am I in a relationship that God’s not directing me to be in?

Here’s another: Is my job or job search my direction or His?

The questions are endless.  I have no idea where you are in your life.  The bottom line is no matter where you are, it boils down to one thing. Are you following the direction God wants you to go or your own?  Remember the title I referred to: “…When God is Behind You, One is a Majority”.  So remember I am asking myself the same question I now pose to you: Is God behind you or are you going in your own direction?

From → direction

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

