Skip to content

fickle

April 10, 2013

Isaiah 53 is a prophecy about Jesus that was perfectly fulfilled. From The Amplified Bible it says, “He was despised and rejected and forsaken by men, a Man of sorrows and pains, and acquainted with grief and sickness; and as one from Whom men hide their faces He was despised, and we did not appreciate His worth or have any esteem for Him.” When I read it last night out of a different version, the word esteem seemed to jump out at me. Esteem means to regard favorably; respect; prize.* Synonyms of esteem are respect, regard, favor, admire, honor, revere, worship.**

I was instantly convicted as the Holy Spirit put His flashlight on how that last part was a definite description of how I had treated Him. He had repeatedly shown me that a direction I wanted to go was not what He wanted; it was a red light for me. My reaction was to rebel like a spoiled child and move down my path anyway, because I wanted to. When I did that, this verse clearly showed me that I was not prizing the One I’ve been sold out to. I no longer respected honored, admired, or worshiped Him. That thought pierced my heart. Holman Christian Standard Bible states that portion of Isaiah 53:3 this way, “…He was despised, and we didn’t value Him.” Is 53:3, Wow! How drastic of a heart change this was for me! I saw myself as I truly was. I was at a place where I didn’t value my God. This was no small thing. It was a serious life-changing course for my life to take. I no longer respected His guidance. It was a horrible, empty existence.

The answer was for me to own up to Daddy where I was, forgive myself, and ask Him to forgive me.

Because I don’t want you to live in that hollow, empty place I am honest with you as to where I have been so that I can ask you from a place of true humility and not religious pride: Have you ever been fickle in your relationship with the Father like I have? If so, please follow the path I took to reverse my direction. These are the steps He laid out in the Bible; they’re not my idea of what to do. Let me know. Your comments are confidential. No one else will see them unless you want me to post them anonymously.

*The American Heritage Dictionary
** Roget’s College Thesaurus

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

