Skip to content

death

May 5, 2013

In each of these blogs I want to reemphasize that I do not claim to have a perfect interpretation of what God is saying in the Bible. I am a flawed human being that has had some excellent teaching through the years. What I share is what God has shown me. I urge you to research it out for yourself and see what He is said for yourself.

I’m moving along in 1 Kings 17.  This blog covers verses 17-24.  The widow’s son gets sick, his condition gets worse, and he dies.  God hears Elijah’s prayers and the young man comes back to life.  When Elijah carries him back down to his mother she says, ” ‘Now I know you really are a man from God….I know that the Lord truly speaks through you!’ ” (NC V)

I wonder if the purpose of the young man’s death was to glorify God and bring the woman to Him.  The death of Lazarus in John 11 was to bring glory to God.  Jesus said in verse 4, ” ‘ This sickness will not end in death.  It is for the glory of God…’ ‘ (NCV)

The purpose of Jesus’s death was to glorify God and bring us to the Father.

The purpose of me dying to myself and what I want is to glorify God and bring me to Him.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

