Skip to content

how

May 24, 2013

I love Psalm 18. At the beginning David declares that God is his rock and shelter. Verses 1-3 are David’s praise and worship to the Lord.

Verse 6 says, “In my trouble I called to the Lord. I cried out to my God for help. From His temple He heard my voice; my call for help reached His ears.” (NCV) Then verses 7-15 tell how God powerfully breaks through the situation and dramatically rescues.

A reader can easily deduce how David cried out to the Lord in verse 6 by having read verses 1-3. He began the psalm with praise and worship. He’s not going to switch over to angry railings at God demanding help in verse 6. How he cried out to the Lord is key.

The Father listens to the person who calls out in need and asks for help. God opposes the proud but gives grace to the humble. (See James 4:6 and Proverbs 3:34.) Verse 7-15 of Psalm 18 tell how God breaks through for the person who acknowledges the Lord as higher and more powerful than themselves. He isn’t going to rescue the proud person who is shaking their fist at Him. “God is against the proud…” (James 4:6a, NCV). I don’t know about you, but I need His help. I certainly don’t need the God of the universe against me. I have enough opposition in my life. I want the One Who created it all and has all the power at His disposal to help me.

“For those who exalt themselves will be humbled, and those who humble themselves will be exalted.” Matthew 23:12, TNIV

So how I ask Him for help is vital. Instead of angrily yelling, “Why didn’t You help me?” or’ “What are you gonna do about this situation I’m stuck in now?” A right attitude that He will respond to is, “I’m in a bad spot, God. Please, I need Your help to get me out of this.” Do you hear the difference in the tone of voice? There is a vast chasm between thinking that I can make a better decision than God versus acknowledging that He is bigger than anything I face. It boils down to arrogance or humility. Since He responds to the person that has a lower opinion of themselves and an accurate view of how big He is, I choose to approach Him in genuine humility. If I’m struggling with my attitude I acknowledge that’s where I am. It’s also important to ask for His forgiveness for any pride I’ve had. I ask Him to help me trust Him and to have a better attitude. It’s vital to own up to my own junk. That in itself creates humility.

Just as my other blogs have been introspective, this one is as well. I am taking an honest look at how I ask Daddy for help. Do I yell at Him in anger or approach Him as One I can trust? Please do the same with yourself. How do you ask?

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

