Skip to content

turn

June 2, 2013

In I Kings 17:17-24 is the fascinating story of the death of the widow’s son that Elijah is staying with. In her grief she seemed to lash out at Elijah. If I slow down as I read verse 18 I can hear her heart-wrenching pain as she says, “O man of God, what have you done to me? Have you come here to point out my sins and kill my son?” Hurting people hurt people. His response is a lesson for us in dealing with dysfunctional people. Instead of attempting to argue with her or defend himself, he knew what the real solution was. He could see the true scenario. Elijah knew what she thought was true really wasn’t. He didn’t make a scene. He knew where to turn. He knew the true Source for her problem. He very simply said, “Give me your son.” *

He carried her son up to the room where he had been staying and laid him on his own bed. He then stretched himself out on top of the boy. This is not sensual in nature as our 21st century thinking immediately goes. This method, if you want to call it that, is found again in 2 Kings 4:8-37, specifically in verses 34-35 by Elijah’s successor, Elisha. Whatever the reason, I don’t want to get off track for where the focus is here.

Elijah knew the boy’s death was not the fault of himself, nor was it due to the woman’s sins. He completely avoided her accusing questions. He turned away from what she said and to the Solution. He cried out to the Lord.

Also note his persistence. He passionately called out to God not just once, not twice, but three times. (See my blog “persistent”.) I don’t know why it took more than once before the boy was brought back to life, but that’s the way it happened. Sometimes persistent requests are needed for whatever reason. The point is to turn. Turn away from what you see. Turn away from whomever and whatever you want to blame, and turn to the only One who is able to give you a solution. This is not a finger-pointing, accusing piece of instruction. I read these blogs again myself periodically. This is also a reminder for myself as to what to do. So I’ll link arms with you. Now together, let’s turn.

* I Kings 17:19a, NLT

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

