Skip to content

provision Part 3

June 12, 2013

There are so many missing pieces in I Kings 17 but obviously God did not see these as details that needed to be added. He made sure the spiritual meat was there for us to chew on. Every time I read these three stories in this chapter they always leave me in awe of what He is able to do. (If you don’t have a Bible, go to http://www.biblegateway.com to read these verses.)

The part of verses 17-24 I want to look at today is what took place after the boy’s life was restored. Between this time and when Elijah carried him down and presented him to his mother, what may have happened? There had to have been strong emotion at that point, as this is not an everyday occurrence to see someone raised from the dead! Whether Elijah had tears of joy, he hugged the young man, or he just literally grabbed him and ran down the stairs with him straight to the mother, we don’t know. One other response that I didn’t mention is what I want to highlight. I can’t imagine that gratitude to God for this incredible miracle was left out. In the days and months ahead how could either the widow or Elijah see him and not thank the Lord for restoring that precious life to his mother?

That thought made me wonder how many things I have been given by my wonderful Provider but haven’t thanked Him for. I immediately remembered a major breakthrough that occurred last night. I was so amazed I forgot to thank Daddy. I have placed a challenge to myself today to thank Him for as many things as I can, things like the roof over my head, food to eat, clean water in my house, hot water right at my disposal from the tap, clothes to wear, a washer and dryer to keep them clean, a car that runs dependably, a computer,and access to the internet in my home. So I’m going to focus today on verbalizing my gratitude for each thing my hand touches and what my eyes see. It’s a challenge I extend to you as well.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

