Skip to content

rest

June 18, 2013

Read Hebrews chapter 4 from The Message (www.biblegateway.com)

Rest is a fruit from

  • listening
  • obeying

I have a precious friend who gave me permission to quote her: “The Lord leads & the devil pushes.” – Charlene Dunn. I see such truth in this.

Rest also is a choice.
Ps 116:7-8 (Msg)
“I said to myself, “Relax and rest.
God has showered you with blessings.
Soul, you’ve been rescued from death;
Eye, you’ve been rescued from tears;
And you, Foot, were kept from stumbling.”

He’s telling himself to choose to rest. Yet this is no ordinary rest. Read v. 3 & see what this writer has endured.  “Death stared me in the face, hell was hard on my heels.” (Msg)

Rest is also a choice that comes from trusting.  If I don’t trust I won’t be able to rest.  So it can be seen as a fruit that is derived directly from trusting.

In Amplified: “The cords and sorrows of death were around me, and the terrors of Sheol (the place of the dead) had laid hold of me; I suffered anguish and grief (trouble and sorrow).”

This tells me that even though I’m suffering through the worst trials, I can rest in Him. I need to choose:

  • to rest in His capable arms
  • to trust He is capable and truly “on the job”
  • to listen to Him
  • to obey what He says to me

Hebrews 4:9-10 from Expanded Bible (EXB)

In the Expanded Bible, Hebrews 4:9-10 says: “This shows that the rest [Sabbath rest; sharing in the rest God enjoyed after Creation] for God’s people is still coming [or is still available; remains].  [For] Anyone who enters God’s rest will rest [or has also rested] from his work as God did.”

This tells me that I need to rest from my human activity of trying to do what I think would work.  It also speaks to me that I can’t rest and worry at the same time.   Worry is a form of work.  I need to stop worrying and choose to enter His rest.  He is such a Gentleman that He needs us to take our hands off the situation so He can work unhindered.  If we want to continue to hang on to things or try to work them ourselves, He will let us.  If we will just choose to take our hands completely off, He would be free to do His divine work.  His solution and outcome far outweigh what we consider the ideal result.  Release it to the Solution Provider.  Then rest in Him.  Rest.

From → hard times

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

