Skip to content

peace and rest

July 19, 2013

In the verses prior to 1 Kings 18:30 there was chaos. When Elijah called the Israelites over to him the yelling, dancing, and cutting stopped. There was peace. Something new was about to happen and no one wanted to miss a thing. This was the beginning of peace, the peace that comes when things are made right.

Several years ago when I began going through the 12 Steps of Alcoholics Anonymous I could sense the peace that things were about to be made right. I also felt nervous because I had no idea what I would experience. I knew beyond a shadow of a doubt that there would be peace on the other side of this new chapter in my life. Little did I know there would be more than just peace. I came out on the other side transformed!

There was hard work for Elijah in verses 30-35. I guarantee it wasn’t long and he was sweating profusely. There were hours of hard work for me as I worked through my issues but the peace and rest on the other side of having things made right are soooooooooooo worth it!

If you’re contemplating counseling, AA, the groups related to AA, or Celebrate Recovery, I highly recommend it. Getting rid of the emotional garbage we’ve gotten used to carrying around for years is so freeing! Go for it! You won’t regret it if you see it through to the end. There’s peace and rest on the other side of it!

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

