Skip to content

yelling

August 1, 2013

From the time Elijah ran for his life in I Kings 19:3 until God asked him why he was in a cave on Mt. Sinai in verse 9, I get the idea that Elijah’s inner voice was yelling, “RUN!!!”  When someone is yelling you have to yell so they can hear you above their noise.   In order to get Elijah’s attention God had to do His version of yelling  (I Kings 19:11-12).   There was wind that tore into the mountain and even broke rocks.  Next there was an earthquake.  Then there was a fire.  I would rather not experience even one of these, much less all three in a row.  Once the yelling frenzy was washed out of Elijah’s system God was able to make His point, and Elijah was able to listen.

He asked the same question of Elijah in verse 13 that He had in verse 10, “Elijah, what are you doing here?” * The way God asked that makes me think this wasn’t where God wanted him to be.  I can imagine that even if Elijah was a stubborn man his identical answer in verse 14 had a more humble tone after the wind, earthquake and fire.  “Lord God Almighty, I have always served you–you alone.  But the people of Israel have broken their covenant with you, torn down your altars, and killed all your prophets.  I am the only one left–and they are trying to kill me.” *  Elijah may have been less sure of himself, but at least he was honest with God.  He didn’t change his story.  That was important then and it’s still important now.  God wants the truth to come out of our lips, always.

Only after loudly getting Elijah’s attention in verses 11-13 and listening to Elijah’s duplicate answer was God able to speak so Elijah could hear.  Elijah’s heart was now ready to hear what God had to say.  God gave Elijah His instructions for what he was to do next.  Then He encouraged His prophet by telling him he was not alone.  “I still have 7000 people in Israel who have never bowed down to Baal…” **   Notice that Elijah’s perspective wasn’t accurate.  It was merely his perspective.

Elijah needed to have his internal yelling quieted and  had to be emptied of his personal opinion before he could hear what God had to say.  I find that to still be true today.  My flesh has to die to its agenda before I am able to hear His voice.    I need to hush my loud voice, empty myself of my opinions, and listen.

*TEV

**I Kings 19:18a, ERV

See my posts “depression” and “lean listen obey”.

From → Elijah, hard times

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

