Skip to content

true results

August 9, 2013

In 1 Kings 19:1-9 Elijah has received a death threat from Queen Jezebel because he killed her prophets of Baal.  As far as we can tell he doesn’t consult God about where he should go.  Instead he takes off running.  More than 300 miles later he enters a cave on Mt. Sinai to spend the night.  “Suddenly the Lord spoke to him, ‘Elijah, what are you doing here?’ ” *  Then Elijah began his pity party answer. The Lord didn’t play into Elijah’s attitude by coddling him.  He got right to the issue He needed to address.  He did His version of yelling (see my post entitled ‘yelling”) in order to jolt Elijah.  Next He told Him what He needed Elijah to do.  Then He addressed Elijah’s pity party and told him the facts; Elijah was not alone in serving God.

This is a great lesson I need to incorporate into my life.  I don’t need to allow someone else’s mood or opinions to drag me down.   All my life I’ve allowed others to suck the life right out of me.  I’m in the process of learning how to do this the right way.   It’s best for me to keep my eyes focused on the Father and to speak the truth only when He shows me to.  Just as Elijah wasn’t ready to hear the facts, the person I have in front of me may not be ready to be sandblasted with the truth yet either.  As I lean on Daddy, listen to His heartbeat and obey only in His time frame, only then will there be true results.  (See my post “lean listen obey”.)

* 1 Kings 19:9b, TEV

(Also see my posts “depression”, “God allows our choice, but He wins in the end”, and “assessment”

From → direction, Elijah

4 Comments
  1. I think it’s our human nature to be affected by others, whether for good or bad. I’m so glad our God is patient and loving toward us and completely understands us.

  2. Weight watchers Prorams permalink

    It is the best time to make some plans for the future and it’s time to be happy. I’ve read
    this post and if I could I desire to suggest you few interesting things or tips.
    Perhaps you can write next articles referring to this article.
    I desire to read even more things about it!

  3. I so agree!! He is incredibly amazing!!!

  4. Thank you for your comment! I only write as the Father directs me. Since I’m at the beginning stages of learning this in my life I don’t feel I’m at a level I can teach about it yet. You may rest assured as He shows me and then directs me to post it here that I will.

Leave a Reply

