Skip to content

burden

September 24, 2013

Matthew 11:28-30, Amplified Bible (AMP)

“28 Come to Me, all you who labor and are heavy-laden and overburdened, and I will cause you to rest. [I will ease and relieve and refresh your souls.]

29 Take My yoke upon you and learn of Me, for I am gentle (meek) and humble (lowly) in heart, and you will find rest (relief and ease and refreshment and recreation and blessed quiet) for your souls.

30 For My yoke is wholesome (useful, good—not harsh, hard, sharp, or pressing, but comfortable, gracious, and pleasant), and My burden is light and easy to be borne.”

There’s nothing heavy in what He wants for us.  So if we’re walking around with a heavy burden, we’re living in disobedience.  I’ve made a decision to do what God has called me to do, and to let Him take care of my problems.

Read these verses through very slowly, one word or one phrase at a time, and talk to the One Who wrote it while you do.  For example, “Come to Me,…” from the first part of verse 28.  I said, “Daddy, I come to You.  I choose not to stand far away from You in stubbornness trying to do it all by myself.  I choose to accept Your invitation to come to You as my Source, my Strength, my Wisdom, and my Counselor.  I have labored, been heavy-laden, and overburdened.  I don’t want to live like that.  I long for Your peace.  I want to live in the rest of my Father’s arms.  Please ease and relieve and refresh my soul.  (Our soul is comprised of our mind, our will, and our emotions.)  My mind needs Your peace and rest.  My will has been like a kid with an attitude, fists up, looking for a fight.  I’m weary.  I don’t want to live like that any more.  Daddy, my emotions have been on a terrible roller coaster ride.  They’re worn out.  I welcome You to come with Your comfort and healing.  I need You desperately.  I can’t do anything on my own.  I can’t fix myself.  I’m unable to control the events of life as they come barreling toward me.  To be plain and simple, I need You!    

I lay my heavy yoke down.  It’s too much for me to continue to carry.  The splinters from it are constant, and I hurt everywhere they’ve dug in.  I choose to pick up Your yoke.  Wow!  It’s basically weightless!  I don’t know how You do it, Father!  I smile in astonishment.  It’s literally a delight to carry this.  Already I’m experiencing rest in my soul.  The relief is amazing!  This is truly easy!  Thank You!  How refreshing!  This is more like recreation, like playing, or even a vacation!  God, I want to continue to live like this!  It seems like suddenly the world is a brighter, more beautiful place than I’ve ever known.  I sense Your gentle, meek, humble heart.  You’re not high and lofty like a proud person strutting their stuff.  I love that You’re lowly in heart.  You don’t force anyone to come to You.  You don’t try to capture our attention or attempt to manipulate Your way into our lives.  Instead, You wait in love, patience, and delightful anticipation of a relationship with us, an ever-deepening and fulfilling oneness with your created beings.

Your yoke is so wholesome!  That in itself is cleansing to my soul.  It’s so incredible!  Thank You!  What I carried before even felt dirty.  But this yoke of Yours isn’t like that at all!  It’s truly comfortable, gracious, pleasant, light, and easy to carry.  How do You do it?  Oh, thank You!!!  I’m truly able to worship You, because that horrible weight and darkness are gone.  Wow!  I never knew that You wanted me to live like this!  You don’t ever want me to go back to the heavy, painful yoke I carried before, do You?   Wow!!!   My soul is dancing, running, free and unburdened…….! (and the worship of my Deliverer continues……..)

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

