Skip to content

wait

December 10, 2013

How do you wait? I was challenged to up my game last night as I read this portion of Isaiah 40:31a from the Amplified Bible: “But those who wait for the Lord [who expect, look for, and hope in Him] …”. The phrase “…wait for the Lord…” jumped out at me. Let me give two word pictures of how I see I can wait.

When I was in junior high I vividly recall waiting for my father to pick me up for weekend visits. I couldn’t count on him to show up on time; sometimes he didn’t come at all. At a dizzying pace my emotions would bounce from insecurity, anger, fear, worry, irritation, wondering if he cared about me at all, and so much more. I was a nervous wreck each time.

Now let’s switch scenes to the Queen of England as she awaits her tea time. She knows it’s coming, as she thoroughly trusts her staff. So she continues the task she is currently working on, calm in the knowledge that her refreshments will arrive on time.

How do you wait for God’s answer? Do you fret and stew as I did (and still am in the habit of doing) or do you go about your daily life composed, unruffled like the Queen?

From → hard times

Comments are closed.

