Skip to content

power

June 9, 2014

“It is not on what we spend the greatest amount of time that molds us the most, but whatever exerts the most power over us.” – Oswald Chambers

I have to ask, what exerts the most power over me?

• Worry? Because at the root of that is distrust of the One I have said is in control & knows best.
• The opinions or beliefs of someone else? Have I allowed other people or one person, to so influence how I think that I am unable to process my own thoughts?
• Food? Am I expecting what I put in my mouth to fulfill the hole in my heart?
• Reading? If this area is out of balance in my life, am I escaping reality?
• TV? Have I lost touch with how much time I spend letting others force feed my mind?
• Too much time on the computer? Do I limit my time in this sedentary activity?
• Shopping? Have I begun to use the stimulation of lights, colors, and an endless visual of “things” to anesthetize my inner pain? Does accumulating “stuff” make me feel a false sense of happiness?  Self -worth?
• Money? Is the accumulation of dollars in my bank account while living a miserly life give me a sense of power & fulfillment? Do I now feel better about myself as I look down on others that live as I used to?
• Staying busy?
o Is that because to be idle would cause me to come face to face with the truth about myself?
o Am I afraid of silence?
o Or would it be that I worry about what others will think of me & how I spend my time?
o Could it be that I want to make the most of my time that God’s given me here on earth?
• Is there something else that’s not been mentioned that exerts the most power over me that I know in my heart of hearts should not even be in my life, or if so, needs to be put in balance?

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

