Skip to content

straining forward

August 1, 2014

“I do not consider, brethren, that I have captured and made it my own [yet]; but one thing I do [it is my one aspiration]: forgetting what lies behind and straining forward to what lies ahead, I press on toward the goal to win the [supreme and heavenly] prize to which God in Christ Jesus is calling us upward.” – Philippians 3:13-14, Amplified Bible

 

My oldest granddog had surgery this year.  His incision was a good six inches along his side, so my natural assumption was that he was in a lot of pain.  Yet when he heard my son come through the front door to get him he stood up and pulled with all his might to get to his owner.  Under the fog of anesthesia, fresh wounds internally and externally, and the profound pain he was in, he strained forward at the sound of his master’s voice.   How convicting.  May my heart long for my master with equal zeal no matter what my circumstances.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

