Skip to content

80

January 3, 2015

“Each morning and evening for forty days, Goliath took his stand and made his speech.” – I Samuel 17:16, The Message.  I cannot imagine listening to the same belittling speech twice daily for forty days.  That’s 80 times in just over a month they heard him make fun of them!  Maybe their strategy was that just in case the Israelites forgot by evening what the giant had taunted them with in the morning, they would hear the same garbage before they went to bed.  That way, even IF they were able to get to sleep, hopefully it would be a fitful sleep as they would dream about being slaves.  Nothing like bullying on a national level.  Here is another “…but God…”  event.  David showed up at just the right time on just the right day, day 40.  To be quite honest, I am looking for God to show up in several areas of my life.  As much as I don’t like it, I know it will be in His time.  And although I definitely don’t like it, He’s always on time, just not the early out I was hoping for.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

