Skip to content
Tags

occupy the land

July 1, 2015

“Israel, do you want to go into the land the Lord promised your ancestors? Do you want to capture it, live there, and become a powerful nation? Then be sure to obey every command I am giving you.” – Deuteronomy 8:1, CEV

I want to be used for God in this second half of my life.  I want to camp out in the center of His will for me.  Let me rephrase that.  I don’t want to camp there; that sounds temporary.  I want to reside, live in, stay smack dab in the middle of what He wants me to do.  Do you want to accomplish all that God has for you?  Do you want to be doing everything He has in mind for you?  Another way to ask that using Biblical terms, are you occupying the land God has for you?  Most of the versions talk about possessing the land.  Do you want to possess all that He has for you?  I’m not talking about physical “stuff” you could own.  I mean that awesome place of obedience that has the most incredible peace hovering over you.  If you want that, God has a conditional promise.  I’ll put the same verse here again for you to read.  “Israel, do you want to go into the land the Lord promised your ancestors? Do you want to capture it, live there, and become a powerful nation? Then be sure to obey every command I am giving you.” – Deuteronomy 8:1, CEV

Did you catch that?  “… be sure to obey every command I am giving you.”  Now there are things He has told me to do that I would never impose on someone else as “law”.  They are things that would sound ridiculous to someone else.  But, they are what I am supposed to do.  What are the things God has shown you to do?  Would you be able to say you are “occupying the land”?  If not, in what area(s) are you neglecting?  This is also known as disobedience.  Those things might be something obscure that are only for you to do, but if you’re not doing it, you won’t be able to occupy the land.  Hmmmm…..do I hear some praying going on?

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

