Skip to content

arrogance vs. humility

July 7, 2016

The Lord showed me I had gotten off on a rabbit trail and actually got ahead of Him by studying Nehemiah.  He also showed me to get back to “Covering”.  There is sooooooo much here.  So back we go……

“Likewise, you who are younger and of lesser rank, be subject to the elders (the ministers and spiritual guides of the church)—[giving them due respect and yielding to their counsel]. Clothe (apron) yourselves, all of you, with humility [as the garb of a servant, so that its covering cannot possibly be stripped from you, with freedom from pride and arrogance] toward one another. For God sets Himself against the proud (the insolent, the overbearing, the disdainful, the presumptuous, the boastful)—[and He opposes, frustrates, and defeats them], but gives grace (favor, blessing) to the humble.” –
I Peter 5:5, Amplified Bible
We’re instructed here to clothe ourselves with humility.  Just so you know, I’m not there.  I have noticed more and more that I have been operating in pride.  Instead of choosing to cover myself with humility, I have literally clothed myself with a brightly-colored shirt with a huge sign on the front that says, “I want to tell you all about ME and how GOOD I am.”  Then in small letters at the bottom it states, “I really don’t want to hear what you have to say.”
I told God I didn’t want to operate in boasting, forgave myself for having put that obnoxious shirt on, and asked Him to forgive me.  Then I told Him I want to wear humility.
What have you been wearing lately?  Anything you need to get squared away with Him?
Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

