Skip to content

proud or humble?

July 14, 2016

Though He scoffs at the scoffers and scorns the scorners, yet He gives His undeserved favor to the low [in rank], the humble, and the afflicted.” –  Proverbs 3:34, Amplified Bible

“…God sets Himself against the proud and haughty, but gives grace [continually] to the lowly (those who are humble enough to receive it).” – James 4:6, Amplified Bible

This post might look a little long, but please stay with me.  I believe God has shown me something vital.

Look again at the last phrase in bold of James 4:6.  So could it possibly mean when we worry about something, try to solve it in our mind, and are consumed by it, that we are not humble enough to receive His grace for that particular area of our lives?  Are  we operating in pride when we try to solve an impossible, God-sized problem?  By obsessing over how we can solve it are we only looking to ourselves and not to the One whose shoulders are big enough to bear everything?

Worry also shows that in this hopeless-looking situation I think that I walk alone.  Yet my compassionate Father sees my current condition.  Read the first verse again, Proverbs 3:34.  Honestly all I need to do is realize He is with me, ask Him to solve the issue, and release it to Him.  Then any time I think about it and begin to worry, i need to merely release it to Him again.  I have to pause and ask, “Is it really that simple?”  Yes, I believe it really is.  It may not be easy in each situation, but God always makes His way simple so even a child can walk it out.  The last part of James 4:6 says He “…gives grace (continually to the lowly (those who are humble enough to re receive His grace.  We can be, too…after we’ve laid down our pride.

 

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

