Skip to content

gatekeeper

September 19, 2016

I said to them, Let not the gates of Jerusalem be opened until the sun is hot; and while the watchmen are still on guard, let them shut and bar the doors. Appoint guards from the people of Jerusalem, each to his watch [on the wall] and each opposite his own house.” – Nehemiah 7:3, Amplified Bible

Another specific that Nehemiah gave regarding their new wall and gates concerned the gatekeeper.  While that man was still on duty the gates should be closed and locked.

Don’t take any chances with your safety.  Be on the alert at every waking moment so the enemy doesn’t come in.  We’re each the gatekeeper over our own lives.  We each choose who and what we let in.  That includes the people that influence us as well as what we watch, hear, read, etc.   A personal note here:  I believe God is trying to teach me that the people I work with do not have to be a person of influence in my life.  That is my choice to allow them to impact my life…or not.  Oh Lord, please remind me of this when I get a snitty comment or email at work!

(Disclaimer:  These are notes from when I was studying Nehemiah.  God has shown me I will return to this after I have studied “Covering”.)

One Comment
  1. Jan Bracken permalink

    How very true/ I am trying to surround my life with “people of peace” whether in church or in the world.

Leave a Reply

