Skip to content

appoint guards

September 21, 2016

I said to them, Let not the gates of Jerusalem be opened until the sun is hot; and while the watchmen are still on guard, let them shut and bar the doors. Appoint guards from the people of Jerusalem, each to his watch [on the wall] and each opposite his own house.” – Nehemiah 7:3, Amplified Bible

Even though the people of Jerusalem were safely behind locked gates each night and until the sun was hot, there were still to be guards on duty.  It was really smart of Nehemiah to utilize the people that lived near each gate to watch it.  Their personal interest in keeping their own house, family, and possessions safe would be motive to do a good job.

Regarding my personal boundaries, the price I’ve paid for my former poor choices is a lesson that keeps me from repeating, or at least holds me back from doing that mistake again.  I’m learning…

(Disclaimer:  Studying Nehemiah has been put on hold as per the Lord’s instructions to me.  These are notes I wanted to post on here in hopes it would help you.)

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

